Thursday, May 24, 2018

‘Season of Wind’ (The Clockwork God Chronicles #2) by Aimee Hyndman

5 stars!

'Season of the Wind' is a solid second entry in steampunk fantasy The Clockwork God Chronicles! There's more of everything I loved from the first book (witty banter, character development, displays of Godly powers) and even more adventure. Diving into the next book now!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.  

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

‘Hour of Mischief’ (The Clockwork God Chronicles, #1) by Aimee Hyndman

4.5 stars

Excellent steampunk fantasy series opener. 12 Clockwork Gods vs 4 Elder Gods, all with magic abilities. 'Hour of Mischief' beautifully sets up the characters with witty banter, motives, and backstory, while moving the plot forward at a pleasant pace.

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. 

Monday, April 30, 2018

‘True Storm’ (True Born Trilogy #3) by L.E. Sterling

4.5 stars - Excellent storytelling, non-stop action, gripping conclusion.



‘True Storm’ is the third and final book in the ‘True Born’ dystopian trilogy.  Book 1, ‘True Born’ does an excellent job introducing readers to the characters, their societal hierarchy and history, and the overarching plot of the series.  Book 2, ‘True North’ provides both the main character and the readers with more information but also more unanswered questions.  Follow the links to read the books and my reviews.

At the beginning of ‘True Storm,’ twins Lucy and Margot are safe and together in Dominion City, coping with the aftermath of Margot’s time held captive in Russia and reeling from betrayal after betrayal.  Though Margot’s experiences have clearly changed her, Lucy is happy to have her twin back and remains hopeful that their close connection will heal over time. 

The twins have recently learned that nearly everyone in their lives has kept secrets from them; they’re even keeping secrets from each other now.  Finally, within the pages of ‘Truth Storm,’ all of these secrets will be revealed and questions will be answered.

This gripping conclusion is full of plot twists and surprises for Lucy and for readers.  Though it seems Lucy has gained the attention of at least three suitors, the label ‘love-triangle’ doesn’t quite fit.  She’s clearly head-over-heels for only one of them and her feelings never waver from him.  One of my favorite aspects of this series is how strong and determined Lucy is, and how established her feelings for Margot and Jared are.



True Storm’ releases on May 1st.  Look for this series at your local library!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. 



About L.E. Sterling:

L.E. Sterling had an early obsession with sci-fi, fantasy and romance, to which she remained faithful through an M.A. in creative writing and a PhD in English literature––where she completed a thesis on magical representation. She is the author of cult hit YA novel The Originals (under pen name L.E. Vollick) and the Urban Fantasy Pluto’s Gate. True Born, first in the True Born trilogy, won the Athena Award® from the RWA. Originally hailing from Parry Sound, Ontario, L.E. spent most of her summers roaming across Canada in a van––inspiring her writing career. She currently lives in Toronto, Canada.

Author Links:
Author Website
Author Twitter
Author Facebook
Author Instagram
Author Wattpad
Author Goodreads

Sunday, April 29, 2018

‘The Deception Dance’ (The Deception Dance #1) by Rita Stradling

4.5 stars - This captivating YA paranormal thriller pulls readers in from the start and doesn't let go.

Once again, author Rita Stradling offers fully developed characters; both relatable and believable.  We follow Raven on her trip to Europe with her older sister and learn abut the supernatural forces of good and evil interfering in her life just as slowly as she discovers them.  Stradling has truly provided us with a dance of deception; as both Andras and Nicholas seem to vie for Raven’s attention, it is unclear whom she should trust.

I enjoyed the supernatural elements of this tale, the authentic character interactions, and that the potential love triangle served to drive the plot forward.  Stradling has brought something unique to the paranormal romance genre, and I am excited to continue reading this series.

The Deception Dance’ and its sequel, ‘The Lie Spinners’ release on April 30th, while the trilogy’s conclusion, ‘Waltzing into Damnation’ comes out on June 1st, 2018.  The entire series will be available as part of Amazon’s Kindle Unlimited program.

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

Saturday, April 21, 2018

'Corsets and Cogs: A Steampunk Fiction Collection'

Excellent collection of steampunk tales; some short stories, some full-length novels. I read two of these with the purpose of reviewing them:

'Princesses and Frogs' by Melanie Karsak - 5 stars


A novella-length steampunk retelling of The Frog Prince in which a wealthy southerner throws an extravagant ball in New Orleans and the servants are dressed either as a Princess or a Frog. Party-goers are all a-buzz about the mysterious identity of their host, who promises to unmask himself at midnight.

'Royal Ruse' by Jayne Fury - 5 stars


A novella-length, gender-swapped steampunk retelling of 'The Twelve Dancing Princesses' in which a former soldier from another planet hopes to gain name recognition for herself by solving the mystery of where the king's twelve sons disappear to for a few nights each month.


Grab your copy!

Thursday, April 19, 2018

'Bones and Bourbon' by Dorian Graves

3.5 stars 

A well-written humorous action adventure! 'Bones and Bourbon' begins with two seemingly separate quests which reunite the Gallows brothers before long; though with opposing goals. Various supernatural creatures are featured in this hysterically funny tale of the brothers' misadventures.

Perfect for fans of Christopher Moore!

Look for 'Bones and Bourbon' releasing April 23rd.

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

Monday, April 16, 2018

‘True North’ (True Born Trilogy #2) by L.E. Sterling

3.5 stars

True North’ is the second book in the ‘True Born’ dystopian trilogy.  Book 1, ‘True Born’ does an excellent job introducing readers to the characters, their societal hierarchy and history, and the overarching plot of the series.  Read my review.

Lucy spends half this book aiding True Born Nolan Storm with infiltrating and gathering information from the elite Upper Circle at various social functions while waiting for him to help rescue her twin sister, Margot.  She spends the later half of this book traveling to Russia to find her sister and discovering secrets of their blood and DNA.  This book ends with both girls back safely in Dominion City, with more information, but even more new questions that need answering.  Among them, the motives and intentions of two people close to them that seem to want to help them, but hold secrets close to their vest.

And then there’s her True Born body guard Jared Price and all the mystery and intrigue that follows.

Look out for the series’ conclusion, ‘True Storm’ on May 1st.  Look for this series at your local library!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

Thursday, April 12, 2018

‘True Born’ (True Born Trilogy #1) by L.E. Sterling

4.5 stars

This introduction to the True Born trilogy sets up the major players, a background of how the plague caused a dystopian society, explains the three castes of people and their rights and expectations, all while narrated by a smart sounding 17-year old girl.  The writing is great, the plot is full of twists and turns, and our narrator and her twin sister are easy to root for.  I’m happy to report that Sterling’s writing had me reaching for my dictionary a few times, and this book is blissfully love-triangle free.

Diving into ‘True North’ now, in anticipation for the release of ‘True Storm’ on May 1st.  Look for this series at your local library!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Friday, April 6, 2018

‘Bloodcraft’ (The Cruentus Curse Duology #2) by Amalie Howard

4.5 stars – Gripping conclusion to this YA paranormal romance duology featuring witches and vampires.  All similarities to ‘Twilight’ should be abandoned.

Read the series from the beginning:

New characters are introduced and we discover even more about the supernatural world created by author Amalie Howard.  In ‘Bloodspell’ we learn the lore of witches and the history of the Cruentus Curse.  In its sequel, vampire legends are expanded upon beyond Le Sang Noir; we hear about the oldest vampires and their abilities, and what happens when an Ancient creates a new vampire.  We also learn more about Warlocks; their culture and their goals.

Though this book is slightly steamier than the last, I'm sorry to say that war is coming and allegiances shift in unexpected ways.  Friendships and relationships become strained as more and more secrets are revealed.

Bloodcraft’ is narrated by Tori, Christian, and Lucian, each offering different pieces of the puzzle as secrets and betrayals are uncovered.  Diving into the accompanying novella, ‘Bloodbound.’

#Bloodcraft #NetGalley  I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.