Friday, March 17, 2017

‘Myths of Mish’ (Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #2) by Katie Hamstead

4.5 magical stars!

This is a clever and futuristic re-telling of Hansel and Gretel, with another fairy tale mixed in for good measure.  (No spoilers here, you’ll have to read to find out which!)

Older brother Hansel is head strong and super protective of his sister Gretel, especially ever since their father’s new wife tried to lose them in the woods when they were children.  Now that Hansel is 21, his father has given up trying to form an alliance via his marriage, and instead has arranged for sweet, 17-year-old Gretel to marry a neighboring President.  Fearing for his sister’s safety and happiness, Hansel steals her away in the middle of the night to avoid early morning nuptials.  Gretel’s childhood friend, Wilhelmine (Minna), sneaks onboard the spaceship to help look after of them.

As Hansel, Gretel, and Minna journey off on the adventure of a lifetime, they learn more about each other and themselves.

Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s ‘The Lunar Chronicles’!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

‘Myths of Mish’ will be available as part of the Kindle Unlimited programstarting on March 28, 2017.

Monday, March 13, 2017

‘Neverland’ (Adventures in Neverland #1) by Anna Katmore

Book Blurb:
Strange things are happening in Neverland…

Although Angelina McFarland loves reading fairytales, she never dreamed of falling right into one herself. Literally! But who is this flying boy who saved her? And why doesn’t he want to grow up?

Desperately trying to find a way off this cursed island, Angelina runs into a ruthless pirate. Hook captures her and keeps her trapped on his ship, the Jolly Roger, to lure the flying boy out of his hiding. 

But is Hook really the heartless man she heard about? The more time Angel spends with him, the more she starts to wonder. Her growing feelings for him are as intense as shocking, and soon she can’t stop thinking about how soft his lips felt on hers when he kissed her under the stars. 

As time passes, an old train ticket to London is all she has left to remind her of her former life and why she can’t give up trying to find a way home.

Or is staying in Neverland forever the better choice after all?

Grab a happy thought and follow Angel on an adventure that will keep you breathless and smiling long after you read the last page…

Mind the cliffhanger! The sequel PAN’S REVENGE is already available!

4.5 magical stars!

Narrated in parts by Angelina and James Hook, Anna Katmore's re-imagining is a beautiful family-centric YA fairy tale which borrows some elements of the 'Peter Pan' we all know and love, while adding several unique aspects.

Highly recommended for readers who enjoy fairy tale re-tellings!

Both 'Neverland' and its sequel, 'Pan's Revenge' are available as part of the Kindle Unlimited program.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

'Brother’s Ruin' (Industrial Magic, #1) by Emma Newman

4 magical stars!

‘Brother’s Ruin’ tells the tale of a brother-sister pair who both seem to possess a bit of magic.  Charlotte Gunn is very protective of her slightly older sibling, Benjamin, who in turn, is an appreciative and doting older brother.  The sibling interactions in ‘Brother’s Ruin’ are truly heartwarming.

Every so often, Benjamin gets inexplicably sick and must put his life at the university on hold while he recovers, usually under his sister’s care.  He wishes his health would improve so that he can complete his studies, start making money and contribute to his family’s household, and thereby gain approval from his parents.  Charlotte’s life is somewhat of the opposite, when we meet her.  She is happily in love with her fiancĂ©, and is already earning an income as an illustrator, though it is under a fake name, due to her gender.  She understands that foolish societal norms prohibit her from earning equal pay if she were to submit her work as a woman, and also that her parents would be embarrassed if they were to learn of the size of her income, or her contributions to their household’s finances.

When their father gets himself in trouble with vicious debt collectors, he calls upon the Royal Society of the Esoteric Arts, mistakenly believing that his son possesses impressive magic.  The Royal Society pays family handsomely when they take magic-wielding children into their fold, and so Mr. Gunn believes this will solve all their problems.  However, Mr. Gunn has neglected to account for the penalty of false-reporting.

Magi of the Royal Society live to serve the crown.  They are not permitted to marry or have children, and are rarely able to visit their own families.  As Charlotte is the stronger mage, content to hide her abilities in order to marry her fiancĂ© and have children, her father has unknowingly put her in a precarious situation. 

Watching the magic unfold in during Benjamin’s magic testing was delightful, and author Emma Newman concludes this first entry in her ‘Industrial Magic’ series with a surprise twist.  I look forward to reading what happens next!

I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book.  All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s.

‘Brother’s Ruin’ will be available on March 14, 2017!