Monday, April 18, 2016

‘Princess of Tyrone’ (The Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles #1) by Katie Hamstead

5 magical stars!

This is a clever and futuristic re-telling of Sleeping Beauty, with minor Cinderella and Snow White aspects.  More Cinderella and Snow White plot lines coming later in The Fairytale Galaxy Chronicles series!

In order to preserve peace and connect the two royal lines; a prince and princess were betrothed as babies, much to the dismay of the evil faerie, Bryanna.

Apolline, our Sleeping Beauty, grew up in secret in the enchanted woods of a planet on the outer boarder of the joint ruling kingdoms in the galaxy.  She was raised by three fairies, affected by magic and has excelled in the unladylike skill of hunting magical creatures.  She is a spirited heroine and can handle herself in a tough crowd.

Prince Allard, on the other hand, was raised in the palace by his father and groomed to become King himself one day.  In an effort to keep the betrothal secure and intact, no images of either the prince or princess have been allowed to reach the public’s eye.  As Apolline and Allard have no idea what each other look like, their interactions are feisty and a joy to read.

Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s ‘The Lunar Chronicles’!

Thanks to Curiosity Quills Press for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Currently available as part of the Kindle Unlimited program!

Sunday, April 3, 2016

‘Water’s Wrath’ by Elise Kova

(Spoilers for the first three books in the ‘Air Awakens’ series.  See previous reviews.)

Air Awakens            Fire Falling             Earth's End

Water’s Wrath Synopsis:

Librarian turned sorcerer. Sorcerer turned hero. Hero turned puppet.
The Solaris Empire found victory in the North and, at the cost of her heart and her innocence, Vhalla Yarl has earned her freedom. But the true fight is only beginning as the secret forces that have been lurking in the shadows, tugging at the strings of Vhalla’s fate, finally come to light. Nowhere is safe, and Vhalla must tread carefully or else she’ll fall into the waiting arms of her greatest foe. Or former lover.

Water’s Wrath Review:

5 flowing stars!

Brilliant addition to the 'Air Awakens' series! ‘Water’s Wrath’ picks up where ‘Earth’s End’ left off; Vhalla has gone into hiding.  She has settled into a new routine of learning from books and recording her dreams of Prince Aldrik’s memories, created by the Bond they share.  However, she does not remain hidden for long as troops return to The Crossroads and the South, now that the war has ended.  Lady Vhalla Yarl’s entry into Court is spectacular, and it seems more than just her friends have missed her.

This fourth entry to author Elise Kova’s elemental magic series focuses more on crystal magic and Crown Prince Aldrik and his family’s past.  All our favorite characters have returned to play a role, Aldrik, Baldair, Jax, Elicia, Frtiz, and Grahm.  Due to the amount of personal history uncovered, this might be the most emotionally wrenching in the series.

The last 25% of this book is full of nail-biting page-turning action and the surprise ending may just knock your socks off.  Looking forward to ‘Crystal Crowned’ later this year!

‘Water’s Wrath’ will be available on April 26, 2016.  #AirAwakensApril

A big thanks to author Elise Kova for providing an Advanced Readers Copy in exchange for an honest review!

Follow Elise Kova on the Web:
Social Media:
Twitter: @EliseKova
Instagram: @Elise.Kova
Tumblr: EliseKova
Facebook: Elise Kova

Saturday, April 2, 2016

‘Air Awakens’ Series by Elise Kova

5 earth shattering stars!

Magic, castles, and feisty interactions with moody princes.  All my absolute favorites.

Vhalla Yarl’s story is compelling; a servant-level palace Library Apprentice with a strong mind and a passion for learning.  Her loyalty to her friends is unquestionable and moving.  The fierce friendships and bonds that form throughout the series is realistic and thoroughly enjoyable, and Vhalla’s interactions with the supporting characters and both the Crown Prince and the Golden Prince is what keeps the story moving at an amazing pace.

The ‘Air Awakens’ series is a joy to read, beautifully written with well-developed characters and vivid descriptions of elemental magic and the various rooms within the castle and of the scenery and temporary camps along Vhalla’s journey.

Author Elise Kova made the excellent choice to have Vhalla narrate in the first-person, as readers are privy to her private thoughts, memories, and reactions.  As the story is centered around Vhalla, these are important insights.

I devoured ‘Air Awakens,’ ‘Fire Falling,’ ‘Tales from the Front’ (novella) and ‘Earth’s End’ within one week, begrudgingly taking breaks only when ‘real life’ insisted.  Cannot wait to find out what happens next in ‘Water’s Wrath,’ releasing on April 26, 2016.

This YA fantasy series is perfect for fans of Rachel E. Carter’s ‘The Black Mageseries.